“Mama, it’s beautiful!”

So, this post was originally supposed to be published in August. I titled it and that was as far as I got before life got too crazy to even think about blogging.

Late last Spring, Mike and I went to an estate sale. We didn’t find much of anything to bring home, but we did find an awesome old ironing board. I love old ironing boards made in the ’50s and ’60s. They were made very sturdy and didn’t easily tip over. So, when we found the board in the basement of the house, we just had to rescue it. I don’t think I have a before picture, but the cover was a mess and the whole board sat downstairs in the basement for a couple of months.

Because of the ironing board’s age and sturdiness, I doubted that I would find a cover for it that would fit, so I went to JoAnn’s and found an awesome, vintage looking fabric. It matched the original color of the ironing board legs and was exactly what I was looking for. The original cover had a really neat fitted pad under it. I tried washing it, but it disintegrated in my washing machine. (It wasn’t one of my finer laundry moments.) So, I recreated the pad, which is way nicer than anything I would find in the store.  Below is how I made the ironing board pad and cover. I’m sorry that this isn’t a step-by-step picture tutorial.

To make the pad, I turned the ironing board upside down onto a piece of craft paper and traced around the top to make a pattern. Then I used that pattern to cut out 2 layers of cotton batting. I made my own bias tape out of the fabric, and cut two pieces of fabric for either end of the board and sewed all of the layers together. It fit snugly and was just what I wanted.

IMGP8154

I made two covers for my board. First I used the silver metallic ironing board fabric from JoAnn’s which is under my pretty cover. To make both covers I used my pattern and then marked 3″ from the edge of the pattern with pins and then cut the fabric out. I made a small casing and then threaded string through the casing. If I get a chance, I will probably take the string out and put elastic in. I think that it would make for a slightly tighter fit.

IMGP8536I love how it turned out. Things iron much better on this board than my old one and I don’t have to worry about tipping this board over because it was built so well. My favorite part of the project was when Katy came into my room after it was finished. She had just gotten up from her nap and came into my room when she noticed the ironing board cover. She looked at it and said, “Mama, it’s beautiful!” How sweet is that?

This entry was posted in Hackberry Hill and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Mama, it’s beautiful!”

  1. Rachel says:

    It looks great! Looks like it fits the board perfectly. I love that you used vintage-esque fabric to tie in with the legs.

Leave a Reply

