A New Year

After spending quite a bit of time updating the layout of my Xanga, I am finally able to write a new post. Most of last year I couldn’t change the theme of my blog and it was driving me crazy. After struggling I realized that the simple fix was to just download and use Firefox as my “Xanga browser.” Internet Explorer and Chrome seem to hate Xanga…at least on my computer anyway.

So, yeah…it has been almost a year since I last edited my blog and even that edit wasn’t really much about the huge changes that were happening in my life. Last year was so busy. I started working at the West Alexandria library in August of 2010 and then found out I was pregnant in November of that year. Because of the previous miscarriage I didn’t share with anyone, other than close family the wonderful news about the baby until the end of December. The Lord blessed me with a really easy pregnancy. Sure, there were days of extreme exhaustion, especially at the beginning, but I have nothing to complain about. I think that working at the library really helped to keep me active and it helped keep me from getting too worried or depressed or anxious. I ended up quitting my job in May 2011 so that I could be home to prepare for my little one’s arrival. At that point, it felt so wonderful to be home, to be able to sew and organize; it was great!

When June came, I was ready for the baby to be born, but I wasn’t very uncomfortable, at least not in the way that most people talk about, and was willing to wait as long as it took for her to come. On my due date, I went to see the midwife. When they checked me they thought they felt a hand. After a long and scary wait for an ultrasound, our fears were confirmed. The baby was breech. That left us with two options; they could schedule a c-section or they could try a version either of which would be scheduled for the next day. I opted for the version. There was a lot of fear there and disappointment. This isn’t what I planned. I wanted to have a low intervention birth. There was a lot of praying done that night.

The next morning I was admitted into the hospital and hooked up to an IV. The doctor came and with 2 midwives, a resident, and a student watching, he was able to turn the baby. Let me just say, even with the painkillers, it was quite painful. I was so excited that I wouldn’t have to have a c-section.  Of course, I should have gone home then because the Pitocin didn’t really start my labor and it was the next day before they decided to break my water. I won’t go into all of the details, but it was a very long labor with an epidural (that I never was going to have) that numbed me to high and caused a panic attack, using suction to try and get the baby out, and then finally an emergency c-section. By the end of the whole ordeal I was actually okay with the c-section. Though afterward, I was so sad because I wasn’t able to see my baby born into this world because they had to use general anesthesia. It was wonderful to hold my baby when I woke up. We named her Kathryn Harriet; her middle name is after my grandmother.

 

Now Katy is 6 months old. Where has the time gone? She is sitting up mostly unassisted, eating solid food, and attempting to move around more and more each day. She is such a blessing to me and to Mike. We are overwhelmed by the love we have for her and the joy that she is. Being a parent is wonderful and scary all at the same time. There are times of great trial, but mostly I am overjoyed to watch her develop and discover new things.

 

Only God knows what this new year will bring, but I am excited about the possibilities.

 

This entry was posted in Xanga Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Year

  1. grace_to_be says:

    oh, i loved hearing this update from you and seeing these pictures.katy is beautiful~ love her red hair!!hope now that you got xanga figured out we’ll hear from you more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

