Thank you all for the kind comments on my last post.  I am very excited and happy to see how God has worked in my life and in Mike’s, in bringing us together.  Right now our lives are a whirlwind of activity with wedding planning.  Though it has been busy it has been good.  Prayers during this time would be appreciated as the date is set for November 14th.

God truly has blessed me by bringing Mike into my life.  Being single hasn’t always been easy.  I’ll be 30 in September and Mike will be 40 in January so we both know what it is like to struggle with God’s timing.  Yet, I would like to encourage those who are still single and waiting to see what God will do in bringing the right someone into his or her life, be patient.  It is worth the wait.  There were times where I thought I had it all figured out, people that I thought would be “perfect” for me.  Yet, that wasn’t what God had in store.  When God did bring Mike to me it was more wonderful than I could have even imagined.  If I had known or just been willing to completely trust that God knew what He was doing I may have lived my younger years with a lot less fretting and with a lot less self-pity.

For those of you girls still waiting, don’t just sit around hoping that Prince Charming will come and sweep you off your feet.  Get busy with what God has for you to do.  Trust God and obey Him.  In God’s perfect timing, if God has marriage in store for you, He will bring the right someone around.  In the meantime, delight yourself in God and be content with where God wants you to be. 

There is one more thing I would like to say and that is God does answer prayer in regard to this matter.  Years ago, when I first decided to practice courtship instead of dating around, I had prayed that no one would ask to court me unless he was the one I was supposed to marry.  God honored that request.  There were times that I felt sorry for myself because it seemed like no one was interested in the least little bit, but really I know that it was God honoring what I had asked of Him and I am so glad He did.  It is so exciting to be able to see that God answered that prayer and brought such a huge blessing into my life.  I pray that all of you single girls can experience that same blessing in God’s timing.  But I also pray that you can be content to be single, not only temporarily, but for the rest of your life, it that is what God would require.

Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart. (Psa 37:4)

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. (Php 4:11)

This entry was posted in Xanga Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. citygirlyank says:

    Isn’t it an amazing comfort to see how God honors those who honor Him?

  2. Neat testimony, Amanda.  So very happy for you!  🙂  🙂

  3. Hutch5 says:

    what a great testimony… I smile as I recall our conversation a year or so ago in the living room of the church house. God is so good to give us His perfect best and in his perfect timing!!! So.So happy for you!!i’d love to do engagement photos (can’t remember if i answered your message or not) :/ Let me know what time works good for you guys…{{hugs}}

  4. @Hutch5 – Nope, you hadn’t answered my message, but I knew you were busy.  Thanks for being willing to do some photos for us.  I’ll have to talk to Mike and let you know.

Leave a Reply

