Scaredy Squirrel

For those of you wondering why my profile picture contains two children’s books, I am now offering an explanation.  As you may have guessed, I see a lot of books as they come into the library.  One day, I came into the library office and I heard some laughing.  My coworkers were reading Scaredy Squirrel.  As we read through the book we fell in love with the humor of the story and the illustrations.  We all classified it as our favorite book and have recommended it to many patrons.  Soon after we found the second book, Scaredy Squirrel Makes a Friend which also became a favorite.  I liked the books so much I brought them home from the library and showed them to my family.  I also had considered buying them.  Well, on Christmas day, I opened my gift from my sister and it was the books in the picture.  I was so happy…they were the greatest gifts.  She also purchased a book for my niece called Chester by the same author which I would totally recommend. 

So, if you ever are looking for a great kid’s book you should check them out at your local library.  There is also a third Scaredy Squirrel book coming out this spring…I can’t wait!

(Yes, you can think I’m crazy.)

Here are some teasers from the books.

From Scaredy Squirrel:

Scaredy Squirrel never leaves his nut tree. It’s way too dangerous out there. He could encounter tarantulas, green Martians or killer bees. But in his tree, every day is the same and if danger comes along, he’s well-prepared. Scaredy Squirrel’s emergency kit includes antibacterial soap, Band-Aids and a parachute.

Day after day he watches and waits, and waits and watches, until one day … his worst nightmare comes true! Scaredy suddenly finds himself out of his tree, where germs, poison ivy and sharks lurk.

But as Scaredy Squirrel leaps into the unknown, he discovers something really uplifting …

Scaredy Squirrel Makes a Friend:

That lovable little worrywart is back. And he’s as scaredy as ever! In his latest adventure, Scaredy Squirrel sets out to make The Perfect Friend.

And once he’s spotted a perfectly safe candidate (with no teeth), Scaredy’s ready. Armed with a name tag, mittens, a mirror and a lemon, he’s prepared to make The Perfect First Impression.

But just when every detail is under control, Scaredy’s Action Plan takes a surprising — and “toothy” — turn …

Will he survive this ordeal? Will he find his kindred spirit? Will he discover the true meaning of friendship? Read Scaredy’s nutty story to find out …

Chester:

Chester is more than a picture book. It is a story told, and retold, by dueling author-illustrators.

Mélanie Watt starts out with the story of a mouse in a house. Then Mélanie’s cat, Chester, sends the mouse packing and proceeds to cover the pages with rewrites from his red marker, and the gloves are off.

Mélanie and her mouse won’t take Chester’s antics lying down. And Chester is obviously a creative powerhouse with confidence to spare. Where will this war of the picture-book makers lead? Is it a one-way ticket to Chesterville, or will Mélanie get her mouse production off the ground?

For more information visit: www.kidscanpress.com

This entry was posted in Xanga Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scaredy Squirrel

  1. NYVogue says:

    you’re too funny! I love the idea – I think I will check them out next time I’m there…  I’m glad to see you are keeping an open mind to exploring all the different books out there.
    Hope you have a great week!

  2. Sounds like fun… Thanks… I’ll have to check them out next time I’m at the library.  🙂

  3. Hutch5 says:

    very cute. i’ll be looking them up – we’re always looking for new reading material around here.:)

Leave a Reply

