Back to School

It’s official.  The kids here in my town have gone back to school.  Do you know what that means?  The kids are back to terrorizing the library.  I have kept my library assistant position and a new computer monitor has been hired.  I can honestly say that I don’t miss that position.  So far, I’m impressed with the new computer monitor.  His name is Jim and he is old enough to be my grandfather.  He makes the kids follow the rules.  I really like how he handled one boy who had sat down at the computer without signing up.  He made the boy get up and come over to the desk to sign up.  Jim will be good for the kids, even if the kids think that he is mean.

Tuesday was the first day of school and the first day that Jim was working so I came into work early.  Mary, the teen librarian, and I kept looking out the window in anticipation of the onslaught of kids.  We probably looked really funny.  There really weren’t that many that came in.  I think that it was because it was just the first day.  It was so awesome to see the kids again.  Some of them were happy to see me too.  Each day it has gotten a little busier, especially since the kids only were at school a half day yesterday.  I’m sure that in a few weeks the kids will be up to their troublemaking ways, but I’m looking forward to finding ways to get to know them and help them find constructive things to do at the library.  My mind cannot fathom that summer is already over.  Maybe that is because the weather is still very hot.  I had planned to come up with ways to interact with the kids, but I never did.  That is now a top priority. 

Today has been the best day of the week.  I was able to stay home the whole entire day.  Being able to straighten up my room and work around the house was nice.  Who knew that cleaning the house could bring so much pleasure.

This entry was posted in Xanga Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to School

  1. what grades do you have? K-6? I’ve taken the myers-briggs test quite a few different times for classes and stuff and keep getting close calls – like if I had answered one question differently I would’ve been in a different category… adia calls – gotta go.

  2. Happy Birthday to you! And many moooooooore! šŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a good day!

Leave a Reply

