Greetings!

I have not fallen off the face of the earth…just in case you were wondering.  I haven’t really had much that I wanted to write about, hence the lack of recent posts.  The only thing of note is that I finally got a job last month.  This was a major milestone for me since I hadn’t had a job outside of the home since May 2004.  Right after I quit my last job I had a physical/mental breakdown.  Part of that was caused by the major amount of stress that I had been through.  Since that time I have considered getting a job, but fear kept holding me back.  I kept praying that when the time was right the Lord would give me the job that He wanted me to have.  He finally answered that prayer and with a slight amount of fear, but also a trust that God had given me the opportunity, I started working at the local library.  My job description was a Computer Monitor (which, when I hear that my mind immediately thinks of something else.)   It was for 3 hours each day during the week.  The computer monitor is the person who signs up the people who want to use the library computers.  It sounds like a boring job and it would be except for the other aspect of it.  The local library is across the street from the middle school and the library is the teen hangout during school.  So, for a month I got to know the kids that would come in after school, which is something that I really enjoyed.  Now that school is out a few of the kids still come in, but it isn’t the same.  There really hasn’t been a need for my position since school let out so I have been doing other things in the library.  Last week I was offered a Library Assistant position which pays more and has days off during the week.  I have accepted and will start that position on Monday.  God has been so good to me.  I love the job that He has given me and I am looking forward to what will continue to open up in the future.  There is still a desire in my heart to do some sort of ministry with young people, but for now I will work where God has placed me and will look for opportunities to develop friendships with the kids at the library. 

Oh that men would praise the LORD for his goodness, and for his wonderful works to the children of men! (Psalms 107:8)

This entry was posted in Xanga Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. Sounds like a neat job… too bad you’re not at our library… we’d have fun bothering you and asking you to help us find stuff. 🙂

  2. Oh, I like helping people find stuff.  The searching part is great.  Unless, of course, I am unsuccessful.   I love “your” library and miss it a lot.  The library here is probably a third of the size of the one next to you.

  3. Sound like a cool job… Way cool that God provided you the “upgraded” version 🙂 Sounds like you’re doing a great job of “groeing where you’re planted”
    Prayin’…Theresa

  4. citygirlyank says:

    I’m so glad you decided to take that job! I was hoping you would.

  5. dude!!! where have you been? lolThat’s really awesome. I’m glad you have a job that you enjoy. I could so totally see you working in that type of place. And you get the bonus of getting to read whenever you want

  6. Sounds like an awesome job!  And we could use friendly people like you at our library! 

  7. Hutch5 says:

    Oh, I’ve always had a secret wish to work at a library… 🙂 Love libraries!! so happy for you.. and what a neat opportunity with the kids from around there – missed you in class lately. Hope to see ya soon.

Leave a Reply

