WHEN to do the will of God means that even my Christian brethren will not understand, and I remember that “Neither did His brethren believe in him” (John 7:5), and I bow my head to obey and accept the misunderstanding, THIS IS BROKENNESS.

WHEN I am misrepresented or deliberately misinterpreted, and I remember that Jesus was falsely accused but He “held His peace,” and I bow my head to accept the accusation without trying to justify myself, THIS IS BROKENNESS.

WHEN another is preferred before me and I am deliberately passed over, and I remember that they cried, “Away with this man, and release unto us Barabbas” (Luke 23:18), and I bow my head and accept rejection, THIS IS BROKENNESS.

WHEN my plans are brushed aside and I see the work of years brought to ruins by ambitions of others, and I remember that Jesus allowed them to lead Him away to crucify Him (Matthew 27:31) and He accepted that place of failure, and I bow my head and accept the injustice without bitterness, THIS IS BROKENNESS.

WHEN in order to be right with my God it is necessary to take the humbling path of confession and restitution, and I remember that Jesus “made Himself of no reputation” and “humbled Himself…unto death, even the death of the cross” (Philippians 2:7-8), and I bow my head and am ready to accept the shame of exposure, THIS IS BROKENNESS.

From Brokenness by John Collinson (Read in Breaking the Bondage of Legalism)

This entry was posted in Xanga Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. zakfox1986 says:

    Is “Breaking the Bondage of Legalism” a good book? Do you suggest it? The title is captivating.

  2. The book was good.  It was written by co-written by Neil Anderson and two other authors.  The book is mostly for those who have experienced the bondage of legalism in their life and haven’t been able to get past it.  It helps a person understand their position in Christ and focuses on forgiveness.  You see, we can’t change what has happened in the past that has hurt us or “damaged” us.  But, with God’s help we can forgive and move on.  I read the book because I found it at the local library and the title did seemed interesting and possible applicable.

Leave a Reply

