A Sunday to Remember

Last Sunday seemed as though it would be a normal day when I woke up.  It was a beautiful, sunny morning and I was looking forward to the day.  I got out of bed a little earlier than I usually do on Sunday mornings because I knew that I had to help my mom with some things before we left for Sunday school.


While I was in the middle of curling my hair I heard this unusual noise.  It sounded just like a snow plow blade that is dropped onto the road and then drug.  Being the alert, inquisitive person that I am, I jumped up from where I was sitting and looked out my window.  Now, I knew that I wasn’t going to see a snow plow truck in June, but nothing prepared me for what I did see.  I think the snow plow would have been less of a shock.  Looking out my window I saw a runaway boat.


At this point you may be thinking that I woke up way to early and I was just seeing things.  But I am serious.  I looked out my window and saw a boat, on its trailer moving quickly toward the neighbor’s trees and ditch.  It kind of had that runaway caboose look to it.  The boat and its trailer went off the road at a rapid pace, hit the ditch and the trailer came to a stop.  The boat bounced partly off the trailer and then came to a rest as well.



My first thought, once it stopped was, “I hope that wasn’t our boat!”  So, I looked out my window the other direction and was relieved to see that our boat was still sitting in our front yard.  (That is another story.)  Also, by looking out the window in that direction I was able to see the truck that had been pulling the trailer.  There was a father and teenage son in the truck.  They pulled over, got out of their truck and looked at the boat.  They tried to push the boat back on the trailer, but it was with no avail.  They eventually left the boat there.  The sad part was that the two of them were planning on going fishing.  I think that losing the boat put a damper in their fishing plans.


After getting ready, my mom and I left for Sunday School.  Class was good as we continued discussing what we are learning in 1 Cor. 13.  We weren’t able to stay for church because we were having a birthday party for my dad at our house and we needed to get home.  So, very sad that I couldn’t stay longer we came home.


When we arrived home the boat was gone.  I guess that somehow the people winched their boat out of where it was resting and managed to get it home.  By that time I had had more than enough excitement for the day.  Seeing the boat accident was rather traumatic.  I was looking forward to having a semi-restful and fun day.


When the rest of my family arrived I told them the story of what had happened with the boat.  I was going to show my brother-in-law the picture of the boat on our computer, but when I came into the room I noticed that our computer was off.  Not only was it off, it wouldn’t turn back on.  For those of you who know how much I like being on the computer you can imagine that the circumstance was rather distressing.  I told my dad and Mark that we had a problem and they both went out to check the electrical box.  I’m glad that they both know a lot about electrical things.  After making a few more discoveries of things that were working my dad went and got his electrical meter and started testing things in the box.


To make an already long story a little shorter, they discovered that only half of the amount of the electric that was supposed to be coming into the house was actually coming in.  So that meant that things like our stove and our water heater wouldn’t work properly and half of the outlets in our house wouldn’t work either.  We had extension cords running through the house plugging in important things like the refrigerator and lights for the bathrooms.  The electric meter even stopped turning.  We joked that the quickest way to get the electric company to come to our house would be to tell them that we were getting free electric.


Since that was right around the time that we were needing to finish cooking a few things we had to get creative.  We have a little propane stove that we can cook on, but of course we couldn’t find our propane.  So, we used our gas grill and its side burner to finish our food preparation.  The meal turned out great, so the electric problems didn’t ruin Dad’s birthday meal.


The electric company didn’t come out until the next morning.  They came to the same conclusion that we had concerning the problem.  When the foundation for our new garage was dug our underground electric service was nicked.  For whatever reason it had taken a few weeks to go bad, but go bad it did.  I think it was because of the large amounts of rain that we have had.  So temporarily we have our electric wire running above ground right next to our cable line which also had been severed during the construction.


I don’t think that my dad will soon forget this birthday.  Neither will the rest of us.  Hopefully we won’t have that much excitement on the next birthday we celebrate.

This entry was posted in Xanga Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Sunday to Remember

  1. thejbub says:

    Wow!!! I actually read all that!!! lol Sounds like you’ve had an exciting week!!!! Maybe I should drive by your house tomorrow -while you’re getting ready for church- and do something weird!!! lol

  2. Here’s to a nice, quiet, peaceful morning at the lake this morning!  Sarah, you behave :).

  3. That does sound like a lot of excitment for one day… but I like those kind of days

  4. Hutch5 says:

    You know when you see a runaway boat out your window first thing in the morning… it’s best to just go back to bed for the day! 🙂

  5. thejbub says:

    *running around like a maniac* IT’S SUMMER! IT’S SUMMER! IT’S REALLY, REALLY SUMMER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOHOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. LOL!  Sarah, you’re crazy.

  7. Anonymous says:

    missin ya!!!

  8. thejbub says:

    lol….Tell me about it! What’s my problem?! lol

Leave a Reply

