Today I finished reading the book Hinds’ Feet on High Places.  I’ve read it before and enjoyed it, but this time I think it spoke to me more.  For those of you not familiar with the book it is an allegory.  I would love to share some passages with you; some of them are so beautiful.


This is what the first page of the book says:  There are no obstacles which our Savior’s love cannot overcome.  The High Places of victory and union with Christ can be reached by learning to accept, day by day, the actual conditions and tests permitted by God, by laying down our own will and accepting His.  The lessons of accepting and triumphing over evil, of becoming acquainted with grief, and pain, and of finding them transformed into something incomparably precious; these are the lessons of the allegory in this book.


In one part of the book it is talking about the lesson of the beautiful flowers that get trampled underfoot.  “Nothing my Father and I have made is ever wasted,…and the little wild flowers have a wonderful lesson to teach.  They offer themselves so sweetly and confidently and willingly, even if it seems that there is no one to appreciate them.  Just as though they sang a joyous little song to themselves, that it is so happy to love, even though one is not loved in return.  This is the application that is made.  “I must tell you a great truth, Much-Afraid, which only the few understand.  All the fairest beauties in the human soul, its greatest victories, and its most splendid achievements are always those which no one else knows anything about, or can only dimly guess at.  Every inner response of the human heart to Love and every conquest over self-love is a new flower on the tree of Love.”


Since the book is about Much-Afraid’s journey I can relate to it.  I am very often afraid of things.  I love what the Shepherd says to her at one point.  “Be strong, yea, be strong and fear not.  Much-Afraid, don’t ever allow yourself to begin trying to picture what it will be like.  Believe me, when you get to the places you dread you will find that they are different as possible from what you have imagined, just as the case when you were actually ascending the precipice.  I must warn you that I see your enemies lurking among the trees ahead, and if you ever let Craven Fear begin painting a picture on the screen of your imagination, you will walk with fear and trembling and agony, where no fear is.”


There is also a place that reminds me of my position in Christ.  “Much-Afraid, don’t you know by now that I never think of you as you are now (crippled and disfigured) but as you will be when I have brought you to the Kingdom of Love and washed you from all the stains and defilements of the journey?”


There were many great reminders in the book.  If you haven’t ever read Hinds’ Feet on High Places I would recommend it.


*I feel like I wrote a little book review.  That wasn’t my intention.  Oh well!

This entry was posted in Xanga Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. thejbub says:

    I love that story!!!!!

  2. Hutch5 says:

    It was a good review. I love that book!

Leave a Reply

