Friends

Have you ever wished that you had a really good friend, a friend that was never too tired or too busy to talk?  Someone who had all the time in the world to sit and listen?  One that truly cared about how you are feeling and would ask challenging questions and offer advice?  That type of friend is someone wonderful to have in your life, yet no one can be that kind of friend all of the time.  Some of us may not have that type of friend at all.  At least, we may not have an earthly friend like that.  But because of our position in Christ we have the best friend in the world.  Jesus is a friend that sticks closer than a brother.  When we are burdened we can give all our worries, doubts, and fears to God; none are bigger than He can handle.  By reading His Word we are challenged and find wisdom.  He is a much better friend than any person could ever be.  He always listens and will never leave us or forsake us.  Friendships may come and go, but God always stays the same.


 


It is wonderful to have earthly friends to tell your troubles to…I think that it is very important.  But often times I want to talk to my friends and get their advice or comfort more than anything else.  When I start feeling like I have to talk to with someone I stop and remind myself where my focus really should be.  If I haven’t talked with my Heavenly Father about the situation yet, I shouldn’t be talking with anyone else.  It is so amazing, when I pray about something before I share it with someone else, it gives me a clearer picture of what I should or shouldn’t say or do.  Sometimes after praying I don’t feel like sharing my feelings with someone else because those feelings have changed.


 


We have such awesome privileges as God’s children.  Think about it, we can talk to our Heavenly Father at any time and anywhere.  He always wants what is best for us.  We may not always see our circumstances in the same way God does, but ultimately He is working them for our good.  Our focus should be on our relationship with God first and then our friends.  



Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind; and thy neighbour as thyself.  Luke 10:27

This entry was posted in Xanga Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friends

  1. Hutch5 says:

    The other day I was upset about something… I kept trying and trying to call Shayne. I started to cry, “Lord, I really need to talk to him!” I heard His still, small voice, ever so gently say… “you can talk to me!”
    I do the same thing all the time. Look to others to meet my needs, that really, ultimately only Christ can! It’s nice to know I’m not really crazy…and others struggle with the same things! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  2. NYVogue says:

    Well, then after you talk to the Lord about it – Call me!!! I’ll listen!!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for sharing. This is exactly what the Lord is trying to teach me right now. 
    ~Jessica 

Leave a Reply

